Heineken Prizes
Honouring the best in Arts and Sciences

1,25 Million US Dollars prize money for Science, 100,000 euros for Art and 60,000 euros for Young Scientists

In the past five decades the Heineken Prizes have grown to become an internationally renowned institution and are nowadays Netherlands’ most prestigious awards for arts and sciences. Every two years we honour five renowned researchers on a global scale and one Dutch artist working in the Netherlands. The laureates offer new perspectives, realise unexpected breakthroughs and open new paths for others to take.

Since 2010 we also celebrate the future generations. We reward four young researchers, employed at a Dutch research institute, whose work holds great promise, and who will be presented with Heineken Young Scientists Awards.


In 1964 Alfred Heineken endowed the Dr H.P. Heineken Prize for Biochemistry and Biophysics in honour of his father, Henry Pierre Heineken, who was a chemist with a passion for science.


The Heineken Prizes reward individuals in the fields of Biochemistry and Biophysics, Art, Medicine, History, Environmental Sciences and Cognitive Science.

Nomination and Selection

The selection of the Heineken Prizes laureates is entrusted to independent juries. All jury members are leading experts their own fields of sciences and arts.

Award Ceremony

During the award ceremony we celebrate the extraordinary achievements of the laureates in both science and art.

Recent Laureates

Heineken Prizes and Heineken Young Scientists Awards