This trophy includes a hieroglyph of a water clock on a piece of plaster that has fallen off a wall. This gives the impression of it being an archaeological find. The fragment of plaster was designed using a real piece of plaster salvaged from a demolished house. The trophy was designed and produced by Simons Jewellers.

The Dr A.H. Heineken Prize for History honours pioneering work and research excellence in historical sciences.

Alfred Heineken established the prize in 1990 as an expression of his appreciation of researchers helping to improve the understanding of our common history. Every two years, the prize is awarded to a renowned researcher worldwide who has made groundbreaking discoveries within the field.

Laureates of the Dr H.P. Heineken Prize for History include some of the world’s leading scientists. Among them are Jonathan Israel, who shed a vitally new perspective on the history of the Enlightenment; Aleida Assman, who made a groundbreaking contribution to the study of the cultural memory of societies; and Lorraine Daston, whose new perspectives on truth and objectivity transformed the field of history of science.

All laureates of the prize have contributed to cutting-edge research that has great potential to positively impact people’s lives worldwide, inspire young researchers, and promote knowledge valorisation and effective scientific communication. The prize consists of a freely disposable cash prize of 250,000 USD and a trophy, funded by the Alfred Heineken Fondsen Foundation.

With great care, the board of the Foundation has decided not to award the Dr A.H. Heineken Prize for History in 2024. In line with the legacy of the awards, the prize will be presented again in 2026. For more information, please visit our news page